Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Home > 1st BNERI International Annual Conference 2014



1st BNERI International Annual Conference 2014
  • 1st BNERI International Annual Conference 2014Open or Close

    ​​BNERI International Annual Conference 2014

    ​25th March 2014, 09:00 hrs

    Royal Berkshire Hall, Royal Brunei Polo and Riding Club, Jerudong Park Country Club​


    "Future Secure and Sustainable Energy Landscape for Brunei" is the theme of the Conference and will look at various perspective on the topic of Global Energy Policies & Strategies, Efficient Supply and Use of Energy from energy experts around the world, key researchers and policy makers.

    Download​: Speaker's CV.pdf

    ​​Invited International Speakers

    ​​1​​​ ​Ms. Maria Van Der Hoeven, Executive Director, International Energy Agency (IEA)
    ​2​​ ​Mr. Adnan Z. Amin, Director-General of IRENA
    ​3 Dr. Fatih Birol, Chief Economist, International Energy Agency (IEA)
    ​4 Professor Hidetoshi Nishimura, Executive Director, ERIA
    5​ Mr. Jeff Skeer, Senior Programme Officer - Technology Cooperation, IRENA, Abu Dhabi, UAE
    ​6 ​Mr. Ken Marnoch, Managing Director, Brunei Shell Petroleum Company (BSP) Sdn Bhd
    ​7 ​Mr. Shigetoshi Ikeyama, Senior Energy Analyst, Directorate of Global Energy Economics, IEA
    ​8 ​​Mr. Florian Kitt, Senior Program Specialist, Office of Executive Director, IEA

    ​​BNERI International Advisory Board (IAB) Members: Speakers & Discussants

    ​​1​​​ ​Professor John Loughead, Executive Director, UK ERC, Great Britain
    ​2​​ ​Mr. Gerald Schotman, Chief Technolgy Officer, Shell, Holland
    ​3 Dr. Phillippe Tanguy, Vice President, R&D Programs, TOTAL, France
    ​4 Mr. Masakuza Toyoda, Chairman & CEO, Institute of Energy Economics of Japan (IEEJ)
    5​ Professor Yu Hongyuan, Deputy Director, SIIS, China
    ​6 ​Dr, Yang-Hoon Sonn, President & CEO, Korea Energy Economics Institute (KEEI), Korea
    ​7 ​Professor Dr. Daniel Sperling, Director, Institute of Transport Study and UC Davis Energy Efficiency Centre, University of California, Davis, U.S.A.

    ​​Local Participants

    ​​1​​​ ​Energy Department at the Prime Minister's Office (EDPMO)
    ​2​​ ​Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA)
    ​3 Ministry of Development (MOD)
    ​4 Department of Electrical Services (DES)
    5​ Berakas Power Management Company Sendirian Berhad (BPMC)
    ​6 ​Brunei Economic Development Board (BEDB)
    ​7 ​Bank Islam Brunei Darussalam (BIBD)
    ​8 Hong Kong and Shanghai Banking Corporation (HSBC)​
    ​9 ​Standard Chartered Bank Brunei (SCB)
    ​10 ​Mitsubishi Corporation brunei
    ​11 ​Phillips Electronic Brunei
    ​12 ​General Electric Brunei
    ​13 ​University Brunei Darussalam (UBD)
    ​14 ​Institute Technology Brunei (ITB)
    ​15 Maktab Teknik Sultan Saiful Rijal (MTSSR)​
    ​16 ​Maktab Kejuruteraan Jefri Bolkiah (MKJB)
    ​17 ​Brunei Shell Petrolem Company Sdn Bhd (BSP)
    ​18 ​Brunei LNG Sdn Bhd (BLNG)
    ​19 ​Brunei Shell Marketing Company Sdn Bhd (BSM)
    ​20 ​​Brunei National Petroleum Company Sdn Bhd (PB)​​
  • Event Agenda and Presentation SlidesOpen or Close

    ​Registration & Opening Ceremony

    ​​07:45​​ ​Arrival of Guests & Registration​​
    ​08:00 ​Arrival of Guest of Honour (GOH): YB Pehin Dato (Dr.) Haji Mohammad Yasmin, Minister of Energy at The Prime Minister's Office

    Recital of Surah Al-Fatihah and Doa Selamat
    ​08:00 - 08:50 ​Signing Ceremony of Ex-im MoU
    By Energy Minister & CEO Ex-im Bank

    Venue: Polo Club
    ​09:00 - 09:10 ​Opening Remark by Guest of Honour: YB Pehin Dato (Dr.) Haji Mohammad Yasmin, Minister of Energy at The Prime Minister's OFfice

    Official Opening of BNERI International Annual Conference 2014

    ​Session 1: Global Energy Policy & Strategies

    Chair & Moderator: Professor John Loughead, Executive Director, UK Energy Research Centre (UK ERC), Great Britain

    ​09:10 ​​Key Note Address & Presentation
    The Honourable Datuk Seri Panglima Dr. Maximus Johnity Ongkili
    Minister of Energy, Green Technology and Water, Malaysia
    ​​Key Note Address & Presentation: World Renewable Energy Outlook
    Adnan Z. Amin
    Director-General, International Renewable Energy Agency
    ​​Key Note Address & Presentation: East Asia Energy Landscape
    Professor Hidetoshi Nishimura
    Executive Director, Economic Research Institute for ASEAN and East Asia

    Presentation Slides: ​​Professor Hidetoshi Nishimura.pdf
    10:10 ​Energy Technology & Industries
    Professor John Loughead
    UK Energy Research Centre (UK ERC), IAB-BNERI

    Presentation Slides: Professor John Loughhead.pdf
    ​10:25 ​Resurgence of Fossil Fuel, Shell Activities on RE & Global Trends
    Mr. Gerald Schotman
    Chief Technology Officer Shell Global

    Presentation Slides: Gerald Schotman.pdf
    ​10:50 ​​Q & A Session
    11:00 ​Coffee Break

    Session 2: Ensure Safe, Secure, Reliable and Efficient Supply and Sustainable Use of Energy

    Chair & Moderator: Dr. Weerawat Chantanakome, CEO BNERI

    ​11:10 Greener Transport Technologies: Policy Toward Brunei Sustainability
    Professor Dr. Daniel Sperling
    Director, Institute of Transportation Studies, Energy Institute
    University of California, United States of America.

    Presentation Slides: Professor Sperling .pdf
    11:35 ​IEA recent World Energy Outlook Special Report on Southeast Asia
    Mr. Shigetoshi Ikeyama
    Senior Energy Analyst, Directorate of Global Energy Economics

    Presentation Slides: Mr. Shigetoshi Ikeyama.pdf​
    ​12:00 ​ASEAN Power Grid 2.0: Letting the Sun and the Wind
    Jeff Skeer, Senior Programme Officer-Technology Cooperation, IRENA

    Presentation Slides: ​Jeff Skeer.pdf
    ​12:25 ​Energy Diplomacy for Energy Sustainability
    Professor Yu Hongyuan, Deputy Director,
    Institute for Comparative Politics and Public Policy, Shanghai Institute for International Studies, China / IAB-BNERI

    Presentation Slides: ​Prof. Yu Hong​yuan.pdf
    ​12:50 ​Q & A Session
    ​13:10 - 14:30 ​​​​​Lunch. 
    Hosted by BNERI​